1490 Library Lane, St. Helena, 94574
(707) 963-3757

The Robert Louis Stevenson Museum is a unique opportunity to experience the largest collection of Stevensoniana on public display in the world. As a community resource, both locally and globally, dedicated to connecting people with Stevenson, his works, and his legacy to literature.

The Robert Louis Stevenson Museum opened its doors to the public on 14 December 1969. It was the physical realization of a dream of one of America’s foremost bibliophiles, Norman H. Strouse. As a young man, Mr. Strouse came across John Henry Nash’s fine press first edition of The Silverado Squatters, read it with enthusiasm, visited the site of the Silverado bunkhouse, and became an ardent Stevenson collector.

In May 1979, the museum moved to more spacious and permanent quarters in the new St. Helena Public Library Center, where it erected its own wing at its own expense. Here visitors of all ages can learn about RLS and enjoy this unique window into his life and times.

Read More on the Blog:

A Family-Friendly Visit to Calistoga


Kid Friendly: Yes